I promise you, I’m different

I’ve been to battle, mortal combat
so gone, didn’t think I’d ever come back
life bursting with disappointments
wasted time and pointless
open wounds still bleeding through
and I hear you’ve been there too…
people, they’re so heartless
you give your all, regardless
then drown in your own darkness
like the devil, drawing life right out of you…

but I promise you, I’m different
my love is nothing but consistent
have a little faith in our potential
my heart is pure and gentle
I can be your weakness
you can be my strength
I just want to lift each other up
it won’t be a mistake
I would never fail you
like the heartaches from your past
be the one thing you’ve always wanted
something that will last

like a slap in the face, unexpected
heart on my sleeve, so naive, and rejected
gave everything I had to the wrong one
destroyed me, devastated, made me numb
thought love conquered all, but evil almost won…
some people, they only want to use you
they think you’re a come-up, you’re so useful
just like me, I see you’ve been broken
hurt so deep, it’s in your eyes, unspoken
left you betrayed, played, even hopeless
I know exactly where you’re coming from…

but I promise you, I’m different
all I want is a bit of commitment
have a little faith in our potential
this could be something special
I just want to be your weakness
I want you to be my strength
lift each other up
believe me, it won’t be a mistake
I don’t want to beg you
and if I have to, it’s not worth it
let’s take another chance on love
you know we both deserve it

Author: iekika nikole

mother.writer.stenographer.and so much more.

Leave a Reply

