raindrops trickling
like a tickle on my collarbone
footprints of your lips still linger
like a voicemail when nobody’s home
I press rewind; replay again
panic sets; where have you been?
my souls knows
in death I could never win
when your name’s not on my headstone

icy echoes swirling ’round
like your breath whisssperin’ my name
wake up dizzy from a dream of us
stale air hits me–
fast and forceful like a train
reality is, you’re beautiful graffiti in my brain

tried to wash you with the storm
but you’re trapped, stagnant–
a stain on a dress I’ve never really warn
familiar but foreign
the smell of rain in a thirsty July
your memory soothes me back to sleep at dawn
my lovely lullaby

but when I wake you’re always gone and I refuse to say goodbye

Author: iekika nikole

mother.writer.stenographer.and so much more.

Leave a Reply

